Self Portrait

060928_unschooling_hmed_1p.grid-6x2

The first week at school for the littlest muppet flew by and he loved it. The older two had already been on the school routine for a week so I was a little nervous how he would do with full school days and a whole week of school. The youngest muppet was lucky that he got the teacher he had wanted, she was one of my favourites and had taught the middle guy kindergarten as well.

I was sitting in the staff room on his first day of school when his teacher came in to have lunch. I asked her how her first day had gone with all the new kiddies and joked about the youngest one behaving. “Well you know…” she started “I was thinking I was going to have to take your child to have a phycological analysis done this morning” I laughed and told her that didn’t really surprise me, she proceeded to tell me that each student was suppose to draw a self portrait to hang on the wall. When she went around to his table to see how he was doing he had drawn a monster looking creature with big red eyes, jagged teeth and crazy hair. She said she was shocked but decided to ask him some questions. The youngest explained to her that it was a monster and that the tiny little drawing beside the monster was him. She felt relieved after that, she was afraid that the youngest guy saw himself that way and the he needed some mental help.

The teacher sat down with the youngest boy and asked him to draw a picture of him like the rest of his class mates and explained that there would be free time to draw monsters later. He decided that was fine and proceeded to draw his self portrait. “I was so relieved” she said “I thought I was going to have to take him to the school counsellor” I laughed and gave her a pat on the back, I told her that the youngest guy was a little crazier than the middle one so not to hold her breath he may need mental help yet! 😉

Leave a comment